Toyota Safety Sense (TSS) driver assistance systems are not necessarily different from other active safety systems offered by other manufacturers. Toyota Safety Sense system technologies can warn you of a potential danger and even intervene if you do not react to prevent an accident, for example.

That said, Toyota does not like to charge extra for its safety systems, and the Japanese manufacturer has decided to offer the TSS as standard equipment (yes, standard equipment!) on 90% of its best-selling models. Toyota is therefore the first manufacturer in the majority of segments where it offers a model to offer active safety systems at no extra cost.

Toyota Safety Sense logo

Three TSS Systems

There are three TSS systems in the lineup. The first, Toyota Safety Sense C, includes three driver assistance technologies: Pre-Collision System, Lane Departure Alert, and Automatic High Beams. Using a camera and radar, these systems are able to detect a vehicle in front of you and brake automatically to prevent an accident, warn you if your Toyota is about to change lanes unintentionally, or detect another vehicle and activate the low-beams automatically.

As you can see, Toyota not only improves your safety, but the safety of other vehicles on the road as well.

TSS P offers four driving assistance devices: Pre-Collision System with pedestrian detection, Dynamic Radar Cruise Control, Lane Departure Alert with Steering Assist, and Automatic High Beams

The pre-collision system operates in the same way as in the TSS C group, but it can also detect pedestrians. The lane departure prevention system also features active steering in order to keep your vehicle in the right lane automatically. Meanwhile, the intelligent cruise control keeps a predetermined distance with the vehicle in front of you when cruise control is activated.

TSS 2.0 includes the Pre-Collision system with vehicle, pedestrian, and bicycle detection. Steering Assist and Road Edge Detection are also available at this level. You can expect to see Automatic High Beam (AHB), Lane Trace Assist, and dynamic Cruise Control.

Vehicles with Toyota Safety Sense C

  • 2017 & 2018 Corolla iM
  • 2017 & 2018 Prius c
  • 2018 & 2019 Yaris Hatchback

Vehicles with Toyota Safety Sense P

  • 2017 – 2019 Avalon
  • 2018 & 2019 C-HR
  • 2018 & 2019 Camry & Camry Hybrid
  • 2018 & 2019 Corolla
  • 2018 & 2019 Highlander & Highlander Hybrid
  • 2017 – 2019 Prius
  • 2017 – 2020 Prius Prime
  • 2018 Prius v
  • 2017 & 2018 RAV4 & RAV4 Hybrid
  • 2018 & 2019 Sequoia
  • 2019 & 2020 Sienna
  • 2018 & 2019 Tacoma
  • 2018 & 2019 Tundra

Vehicles with Toyota Safety Sense 2.0

  • 2019 Corolla Hatchback
  • 2019 RAV4 & RAV4 Hybrid
  • 2020 Corolla & Corolla Hybrid

To learn more about Toyota Safety Sense safety technologies, contact us today at Kingston Toyota!